Common Questions About Speeding Tickets in Massachusetts
I just got a Massachusetts Speeding Ticket, what do I do now?
Sorry to hear that. Did you know even the smallest ticket in Massachusetts will lead to increased insurance premiums for years? Did you know that if you get three speeding tickets in a year you will lose your license for 30 days? If you are a junior operator kist one ticket leads to a license loss? So if you just got a speeding ticket you need to appeal the ticket. You must request your hearing within 20 days. You request your hearing by mailing in the ticket to the address on the back.
How do I pay or appeal a Massachusetts speeding ticket?
If you are cited for speeding by a police officer, you only have 20 days to either pay the fine or to appeal the fine in a hearing. If you request a hearing, you must pay a $25 filing fee to the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV). If you do not take action within 20 days, you will also receive a late fee.
Failure to pay the speeding fine and the late fee will result in your license being suspended.
What if I ignore my Massachusetts Speeding Ticket?
If you ignore your Massachusetts speeding ticket you will lose your right to fight the ticket and the Massachusetts RMV will suspend your license until you pay the ticket. If you live out of state you may not be able to renew your license until you pay the ticket and other fines and penalties.
Questions about the Massachusetts Speeding Ticket Appeal Hearing
Where is my Massachusetts Speeding Appeal Held?
In Massachusetts the speeding appeal is conducted in the court where the speeding ticket was given. You can find this by looking at the court code (found on the top of the ticket) and usually the Officer puts the court on the bottom the ticket.
Can I bring a lawyer to my Massachusetts Speeding Ticket Appeal?
Yes. You are not required to bring a lawyer and a lawyer will not be appointed to you but you can bring your own lawyer.
Can I reschedule my hearing date?
Whether you can reschedule your Massachusetts speeding ticket appeal is up to the individual clerk magistrate. If you need to reschedule your hearing you should call the court as soon as possible and ask if they can reschedule it. Most courts will not grant a second rescheduling.
Do I need to be present at the hearing?
Yes. But in certain circumstances you can allow your lawyer to appear in your place.
Can I plea this to a non moving infraction or traffic school?
No! Massachusetts does not have an traffic school alternative or a way to plea it down to a non-moving violation. The only way to avoid insurance increases and penalties on your license is to be found Not Responsible.
Can the Magistrate change the ticket to a warning?
No. Only the police officer can decide to give you a warning. The clerk can only find you responsible or not responsible.
Will my ticket be dismissed if the police officer does not show up?
The police officer who gave you your Massachusetts speeding ticket does NOT need to appear at the Magistrate’s or clerk’s hearing. In Massachusetts, the ticket itself if the prima facie evidence of the speeding. Usually a police prosecutor will summarize from the ticket.
If you appeal your ticket to a judge the officer will have to appear or you will be found not responsible.
Questions about Massachusetts Speeding Ticket Penalties
How much will I have to pay for a speeding ticket?
A speeding ticket fine is $100 for any speed up to 10 miles above the posted speed limit. The fine increases by $10 for each additional mile after the first 10. For example, if you are pulled over for driving 16 miles above the speed limit, your fine will be $160. If you were pulled over for speeding in a posted work zone, the amount of the fine as calculated above will be doubled.
What happens to my Massachusetts license if I get more than one speeding ticket?
Drivers who get three speeding tickets within a one-year period will have their license suspended for 30 days upon paying for or being found guilty of the third citation.
Questions about Insurance Consequences and A MA Speeding Ticket
Is a Massachusetts Speeding Ticket a Surchargeable Event?
Speeding is a minor traffic violation that constitutes a “surchargeable event” in Massachusetts. The accumulation of three surchargeable events within a two-year period, or five surchargeable events within a three-year period, will result in mandatory enrollment in a driver retraining school.
How will my car insurance rate be affected when I pay for a speeding ticket?
Surchargeable events accumulate surchargeable points on a driver’s license. The more surchargeable points that you accumulate in a given period of time, the more your car insurance rates will increase.
Will my insurance increase if I get one speeding ticket in Massachusetts?
Yes. Your first speeding ticket may not incur any surchargeable points yet you will still see an increase in your insurance. However you will lose your Excellent Driver Plus Discount and see your premiums rise and stay higher for six years!
Massachusetts Speeding Ticket Attorney Patrick Donovan
Patrick Donovan is a former Massachusetts prosecutor who has appeared in over fifty Massachusetts court. Attorney Donovan has saved clients thousands of dollars in speeding ticket fines and increased insurance premiums. Attorney Donovan has presented the first seminar on Traffic Court to fellow lawyers at the Massachusetts Continuing Legal Education. Attorney Donovan offers a free phone consultation to people who have gotten a Massachusetts speeding ticket. Call Today.