Leaving the scene of property damage is a crime in Massachusetts. There are two types of leaving the scene charges. First, there is leaving the scene of property damage. Then, there is leaving the scene of personal injury.
Real Client Review
From the start, Attorney Donovan eased my anxiety about my hit and run with property damage charge. He explained how the process in court works, and what to expect. He met with me the Sunday before my hearing and thoroughly explained everything and gave me a chance to ask lingering questions. Attorney Donovan never made me feel stupid and always made himself available. Also, he was very prompt, nice, smart, and real. My charge dropped. I couldn’t be more happy with the outcome.” Sara.Sara, Real Client
Leaving the Scene of an Accident Most Recent Wins
The victim noticed damage to her car. Police found the client’s license plate at the scene. Police asked to speak with the client. He made no statements to the police. Finally, he got a summons to appear in court. Then on the day of trial, the Assistant District Attorney answered not ready for trial. Case Dismissed.
The client, 18, got into a minor car accident in Boston. Also, the client faced deportation from the US because he had DACA status. Finally, Attorney Donovan successfully resolved the case prior to the arraignment. CASE DISMISSED
Leaving the Scene FAQs
Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 90 section 24 is the Massachusetts hit and run law. There are two elements of the Mass hit and run law. First, the person drove a car on a public way. And second, without stopping and making known his or her name, residence, and the register number of his or her motor vehicle, did go away after knowingly colliding with or otherwise causing injury to the vehicle or property of another.
Leaving the scene of an accident with property damage penalty in Mass is House of Correction imprisonment for not less than 2 weeks or not more than 2 years. Also, there is also a fine not less than $20 or more than $200.
The Massachusetts RMV will suspend or revoke your driver’s license for 60 days if you are found guilty of leaving the scene of an accident.
Yes. The RMV will only suspend if you are found guilty. And, if your case is dismissed or continued without a finding there will be no license loss. Also, the judge may recommend that the RMV does not suspend your license.
No. The law does not allow a subsequent leaving the scene of property damage charge to be filed or continued without a finding.
If both charges happened within 3 years the drivers’ license suspension is 1 year.
Yes. The RMV may revoke the registration of your car upon a leaving the scene charge if you own the car or have exclusive control of the car.
Are there legal defenses to the Leaving the Scene of Property Damage?
YES. There are defenses. Knowledge is the most common defense to leaving the scene of property. Therefore, the prosecutor must prove that the driver knew that they struck something. Also, they must prove that the driver knowingly hit something.
Another defense is whether the defendant was the operator of the car. Oftentimes no one witnessed the collision.
Finally, an experienced criminal attorney can make a difference in the outcome.
Ma Leaving the Scene of Property Damage Lawyer
Massachusetts Criminal Lawyer Patrick T. Donovan provides the best criminal defense for leaving the scene of an accident. Also, Attorney Donovan represents clients charged with motor vehicle crimes. Ultimately Massachusetts Criminal Attorney Patrick T. Donovan fights for the best possible outcome for each and every one of his clients.