Enticing a child under 16 is a felony in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. It is defined in Massachusetts General Law chapter 265 section 26c. Anyone convicted of child enticement is required to register as a sex offender.
To be convicted of enticing a child the prosecutor must prove three elements beyond a reasonable doubt. The first element requires the district attorney to prove the victim was under 16 or that the defendant believed the victim was under 16. Second, the prosecutor must prove the defendant enticed the victim to do something like enter, exit, or remain in a car, house, or other places. Third, the defendant intended to commit a criminal offense specifically:
- Indecent Assault and Battery
- Assault with Intent to Rape
- Open and Gross Lewdness
- Disseminating Matter Harmful to a Minor
- Posing or exhibiting a child under 18 nude or in sexual conduct
- Purchasing or possessing visual material of a child in a sexual act
- Unnatural Acts with a Child under 16
- Disorderly Conduct
- Disturbing the peace
- Indecent Exposure
- Keeping a Disorderly House
- Lewd Wanton and Lascivious Behavior
- Sexual Conduct for a Fee
What is the Penalty for Enticing a Child Under 16?
Child enticement is a felony criminal offense in Massachusetts. Anyone convicted of enticing a child under 16 faces up to 5 years in state prison or up to 2.5 years in the house of Corrections. Anyone guilty of this statute is required to register as a sex offender in Massachusetts.
Massachusetts Criminal Lawyer
Massachusetts Criminal Lawyer Patrick Donovan has defended people charged with many sex offenses. Attorney Donovan is a former Assistant District Attorney who uses his past prosecutor training to help each and every client achieve the best possible result. Attorney Donovan has appeared in over 50 courts in Massachusetts including Boston, Dorchester, Hingham, Dedham, Quincy, Cambridge, Taunton, Barnstable.
If you need the best MA criminal attorney to defend your case call today for a free no-obligation consultation.